Opened 8 months ago

Closed 8 months ago

Last modified 8 months ago

#7667 closed defect (wontfix)

Delete file before overwriting them.

Reported by: peterf81 Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: undetermined
Version: unspecified Keywords:
Cc: Blocked By:
Blocking: Reproduced by developer: no
Analyzed by developer: no

Description

If a file is about to be overwritten by ffmpeg, it should be first deleted and then created. This can help recover the original file by undelete, if it was accidentaly deleted by specifying wrong ffmpeg parameters. Ffmpeg deleted an important video and it cannot be recovered because it truncated the file, not deleted it before.

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 8 months ago by cehoyos

  • Keywords Undeleter truncate removed
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Type changed from enhancement to defect

I doubt this will be implemented because of a ticket, if you have a suggestion on how to improve this, please send your patch - made with git format-patch to the FFmpeg development mailing list for discussion.

Version 0, edited 8 months ago by cehoyos (next)

comment:2 Changed 8 months ago by peterf81

Yes, you are right. Until you accidentaly delete some very important family video.

comment:3 Changed 8 months ago by cehoyos

You misunderstand: I know your issue very well because it was reported approximately a thousand times over the last decade. I just think that a change like this has to be discussed on the development mailing list, not here.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.